After a member is deleted, all of their information and logs will be cleared and cannot be recovered. The member will also leave the all-member group automatically. Generally, members deleted from Contacts are called “former members”.
Note:
1. Deleted member accounts cannot be restored (after deletion, members’ WeCom message history will be completely cleared). If the company has previously participated in the “Data Security Program”, it may be possible to recover the records and data of the original accounts. For details, see the “Data Security Program” documentation.
Members re-invited to join are regarded as new members and cannot see any records of the previously deleted accounts.
2. After deletion, the WeCom mailbox will be moved to the Email Recycle Bin. You can go to “Admin Console” -> “Collaboration” -> “Mails” -> “Mailbox Management” -> “Email Recycle Bin” and assign it to another member within 30 days of deletion. The email data can be viewed after the reassignment. If a mailbox is not reassigned within the specified time, its data will be cleared and cannot be recovered. (For previous versions of Mails, you can restore an account in the “Admin Console” -> “System Log” -> “Operation Records” within 10 days.)
After a member is disabled, all of their information and logs will be reserved, and the member cannot log in to WeCom.
1. On the “Contacts” tab of the admin console, search for a member by name, department or tag, enter the member’s details page, and then disable or delete the member.
2. On the WeCom app, choose “Workspace” -> “Manage Company” -> “Member and Dept. Management”, search for a member, and then enter their details page to delete the member. Currently, disabling a member is not supported on the WeCom app.
3. A member can be disabled via either of the following methods: go to [Admin Console -> Contacts -> Organizational Structure] or API.
(1) Please check if the member being deleted is the creator. Creators cannot be deleted.
(2)Check if you are trying to delete yourself. Deleting oneself is not supported.
Creators cannot be disabled. If an admin is trying to disable the creator, this message will appear.
When an administrator disables a member’s account or a member’s account is banned, this prompt will appear if they @mention the other party in private or group chats.
As of v5.0.9, when chatting with colleagues whose account status is abnormal, you can see if they can send and receive messages, making communication more efficient.