Help Center
How to transfer group owner role

After the group owner is removed from the Contacts by the admin, the group chat will not be deleted automatically. Whether the group owner role will be transferred automatically depends on the group type:
1. Internal groups and connected groups created in WeChat: If the group owner leaves the company, the group owner role will be automatically transferred to a group member. “Created by a WeChat user” is shown in a connected group created in WeChat.

2. External groups created by WeCom users: If the group owner leaves the company, the group owner role will be automatically transferred to a group member in the same company. If there is no such member, the role will not be transferred. When group members click the personal information of the group owner, it shows “Offboarded”. “Created by a WeCom user” is shown in a connected group created in WeCom.

3. Customer groups: The group owner role is assigned by the admin or business owner for Contact Customers with the permission for role assignment management.

4. Group ownership is not automatically transferred when the group owner leaves.
(1) The group owner must be deleted from the Contacts for their departure to trigger a transfer of group ownership. If a member leaves the company voluntarily, the group ownership will not be automatically transferred.
(2) If the group has a very large number of members, there may be a delay in the transfer. Wait 5 minutes after the group owner leaves and then access the group chat to manually trigger the ownership transfer.
(3) For customer groups, an admin or the “Contact Customers” business owner with the permission for role assignment of offboarded members can handle the transfer of group ownership.
(4) For regular external groups created by a WeCom user, if there are no other members from the same company, the group ownership will not be automatically transferred.
Note: If the company is not verified/verified but has reached the limit for customer groups or external contacts, ownership of external groups (not including those migrated from WeChat) will not be automatically transferred to another member of the same company.