1. Messages sent within 24 hours in an internal private chat/group chat, a private chat with a WeCom contact, and a group chat with only WeCom contacts can be recalled. The “Recall” option will become unavailable after this time limit.
Note: You need to update WeCom to the latest version to use the “Recall” feature; otherwise, messages sent within 24 hours cannot be recalled.
2. Private chats with WeChat contacts, group chats containing WeChat contacts
(1) Supports recalling messages sent within 2 minutes; the recall option is not visible after this time.
(2) The recall time for file messages is 3 hours. The recall time for combined messages containing both file and non-file messages is 2 minutes. WeCom users also can make recalling when using WeChat plugins.
Note: If a member is within the effective scope of file leakage prevention, the recall time for sent file messages is 2 minutes.
3. WeCom and WeChat users can recall their messages sent within 2 minutes in a chat with WeChat Customer Service.
4. For recalled text messages, you can click “Reedit” within 5 minutes to edit the content again. The “Reedit” option will become unavailable after this time limit.(Re-editing is not supported for images, files, or other info after they have been recalled)
5. Content that can be recalled:
You can recall voice, text, image, file, video, business card, location, shared link, and other messages.
Once a message is recalled, a prompt will be displayed in the chat.
6. Message recall is not supported in WeChat plugin sessions. However, if a message is recalled from the WeCom side, it will be synced in the WeChat plugin session.
1. Group owner and admins can recall messages sent by members in internal groups.There is employee services in the group chat, and the messages sent by the employee services can be recalled; In group chats initiated by employee services, the group owner can recall messages sent by any group member.(external groups are not currently supported)
2. Red packet messages cannot be recalled.
3. Messages sent 24 hours ago cannot be recalled.
4. On mobile: Enter an internal group, tap and hold a message sent by a member, and then tap “Recall”.
On PC: Enter an internal group, right-click a message sent by a member, and then click “Recall”.
1. The “Recall” button is unavailable for messages.
(1) The “Recall” button will become unavailable if the recall time limit is exceeded. Messages sent to WeCom contacts can be recalled within 24 hours, while messages sent to WeChat contacts can be recalled within 2 minutes.
(2) Messages sent via the WeChat plugin cannot be recalled.
(3) If the recall time limit is not exceeded, check if the local time on your phone is consistent with the network time.
To enable time settings:
On iOS: “Settings” -> “General” -> “Date & Time” -> “Set Automatically”
On Android: “Settings” -> “Date & Time” -> “Set Time”
(4) The “Recall” button is unavailable for messages sent to yourself in WeCom on PC, but available on mobile.
2. Recalled messages can still be seen in system notifications on mobile.
When a message is recalled, it can only be removed from the WeCom chat, not from the system notification history.
3. Can a message be recalled after deletion?
Messages that have been deleted cannot be recalled.
4. What can I do if the recall time expires?
In this case, the message cannot be recalled.